Press X for Rocket Launcher

13Nov12

Hey everyone!

It’s been a while since I’ve updated this dev blog, so a lot has happened.  I’m almost done with a mission!  😀  It’s not really part of the story – it’s more of a demo really.  I told all the alpha testers that I’d have it ready by this coming Saturday, so I’m in crunch-mode right now.

Also, before I even started this mission, I made a combat arena.  As a trap for one of our writers, I had this text flash on the screen after wave #7:  “Press X for Rocket Launcher”.  Pressing X spawned two assault mechs right in front of the player.  I never survived the two mechs, but somehow the writer did.  I’ll get him this time >:D

More news – probably the biggest news.  I’ve been putting off announcing this for a while because I wanted to make sure it was going to work out, and I wanted to figure out some of the details.

Terra Melior is going to be an action RPG.  It will be a third-person shooter that doesn’t have cover-based shooting.  I’m keeping most of the strategic elements in the game, but there’s going to be a fair amount of action as well.

In the original plan, it was going to be an old-school RPG with pre-rendered graphics.  Unfortunately, while the graphics looked pretty good, they were TERRIBLE when shrunk to the size they needed to be.  It looked like something made in MS Paint.  Also, the animation would have been choppy, and displayable armor and weapons would have been very limited.  Since I already had 3D models, I decided to make an action RPG instead.

Well, I think I’m going to get back to work.  I’m not sure how many screenshots I’ll have in the near future.  After the mission is done, I might upload a gameplay video or something.  I’m kinda new to this whole promotion thing, so I’m not sure when to start getting the word out.  On the one hand, I don’t like getting people excited about something, and then telling them they have to wait for months.  On the other hand, I do need to start collecting pledges for pre-orders soon.  I’ll make the game whether I have funding or not, but the production value will be much higher with funding.

Anyways, thanks for the support!

No Responses Yet to “Press X for Rocket Launcher”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

