Making buildings with ProBuilder 2.0

07Feb13

So I figured I’d show some love for my favorite Unity tool: ProBuilder 2.0.  I’m not sure if I wrote about it here, but I had a bit of a design crisis after discovering that while it was relatively easy to model buildings in Blender and import them to Unity, it was very difficult to assign textures, collision, culling, lightmapping, and every little change required a new import.  Even making a simple bridge took a long time, and as you can see in my early videos, the textures were pretty terrible.  My first hallway was so bad that I didn’t even show it in videos 😛

So I decided to get ProBuilder 2.0.  Even though at the time, it was still in beta, it was easy to use and saved me SO much time.  It took all those difficult, time-consuming things that I hated doing and either did them automatically, or made them simple and quick.  I was finally able to start getting my architectural ideas into the game.  SixBySeven Studio has excellent support, and even gave me advice on textures and lighting, the result of which has been these moody, atmospheric scenes:

Screen shot 2013-02-04 at 2.17.13 PM

Screen shot 2013-02-04 at 2.16.44 PM

Also, major props to Unity and it’s Beast lightmapping.  It’s awesome that indies like me can have access to such a professional tool.

Here’s ProBuilder’s site if you want to check it out:  http://www.probuilder3d.com/

And here’s Terra Melior’s section in their gallery.  Be sure to check out the other galleries too, as they’re really impressive:  http://www.probuilder3d.com/terra-melior/

No Responses Yet to “Making buildings with ProBuilder 2.0”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

