Back to work on one of the earliest levels

22Nov13

I’ve been working on an acid level and a new boss arena lately, but they’re not very polished.  Pretty fun to play (there’s a new acid monster!!!  it’s got 5 moves so far), but it’s visuals that count for screenshots.

Anyways, I’m trying to get a 1st draft of the entire game done ASAP (I wanna play it!), so I decided to move on to another level for a bit.  I pulled up an old level that I haven’t touched for at least 6 months.

testscreen-11_22_2013 _ 01_19_30

OldLevel

Something is up with the terrain shader on this level… it’s got specular or something.  I think I was experimenting with making the snow sparkle.  Hopefully I can change it back to the old shader.

So yeah, I’m just going through the level, placing enemies, changing out old event triggers for new ones, and adding goals and checkpoints.  I think this will be the level that leads to the Pursuers boss battle, because that’s early in the game.

I’m not a huge fan of using the terrain engine, but not every mission can be in ice caves or connected mountains.  Below is a screenshot of a newer level to show what I mean.  There’s fog and blizzard effects, so you don’t see that they’re disconnected.

NewLevel

It’s hard to see them, but there are 5 caves.  I also cut out a secret area to not spoil it.

Anyways, that’s what I’m up to.  It’s hard to post screenshots now that I’m in “make content fast” mode because nothing is polished, but maybe I can make a compilation later on.  That might be kinda cool.

I’ll write more about this later, but I really feel like being able to sit down and play the entire game, making notes the whole time.  Then work on those notes, and do it again.

No Responses Yet to “Back to work on one of the earliest levels”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

